Amplified Soloist

Question: How do you judge a band that has solo performers with an amplified mic? Are points taken off if the performers leave a form to go play their solo and then return to the drill?

Answer: As with any visual design, it heavily depends upon the staging of the soloist. The smart designers will stage their soloists so that the transition to a mic (if needed) is transparent. Nothing on the scoresheet will deduct points, however those groups who suddenly run a trumpet quartet to the front sideline when they were previously staged in the middle of the field run the risk of having interruptions in the flow and continuity of the program.

– Mark Culp